Covid-19 update

Monorail Music is now open Mon-Sat 11am-7pm and on Sunday 12-7pm. We're continuing to follow social distancing rules in accordance with government guidelines. Please continue to wear a face covering where possible.

Thanks for all your support!

Arthur Russell

Another Thought

Be With

Released: 19th November 2021

CD£12.99Out of Stock
2xLP£29.99 Buy Now In Stock. Dispatched today.

An essential collection for anyone with even a passing interest in Arthur Russell!

2LP Format : 2021 reissue, 140g double vinyl, gatefold sleeve with insert and original liner notes.
CD Format : 2021 reissue, triple-fold digipak and insert and original liner notes.

Serving as a somewhat unintentional sequel to the majestic World of Echo, this collection was compiled by producer Don Christensen from the countless hours of unreleased tapes that Russell had recorded over the final decade of his life and consists mostly of the minimalist cello and voice format pop songs that are amongst Russell's sharpest emotional weapons.

Arthur Russell's voice is one that can inspire rolling hyperbole, flowery prose describing the effect the man's fragile croon can have on the heart and it's exceptionally beautiful here. Mostly unadorned and swimming in oceans of space left by the elegiacally played cello, his words are left to land properly on Another Thought. At once pop and not-pop, this is the only place where you can hear some of Arthur’s most recognisable music, like the title track Another Thought, A Little Lost, This Is How We Walk On The Moon, Keeping Up and the woozy disco of In The Light Of The Miracle and My Tiger, My Timing. Though technically a compilation, the whole of Another Thought comes together as a consistent, coherent, wonderful album.

01 : A1 : Another Thought (02:16)
02 : A2 : A Little Lost (03:18)
03 : A3 : Home Away From Home (05:12)
04 : A4 : Lucky Cloud (02:16)
05 : B1 : This Is How We Walk On The Moon (04:42)
06 : B2 : Hollow Tree (02:30)
07 : B3 : See Through Love (04:46)
08 : C1 : Keeping Up (06:20)
09 : C2 : In The Light Of The Miracle (06:05)
10 : C3 : Lucky Cloud (Return) (03:00)
11 : C4 : Just A Blip (03:42)
12 : D1 : Me For Real (04:55)
13 : D2 : Losing My Taste For The Night Life (04:34)
14 : D3 : My Tiger, My Timing (05:41)
15 : D4 : A Sudden Chill (02:45)